Broken

By Sharon Burger

He broke me too many times, I wont let him do it again.
I fell for his magic, his mystical look, his piercing eyes.
I approached, offered my soul, my love.
He took it, and tore it apart.
I offered my friendship, he took it only when it was useful to him.
He enjoyed my attention, he didn’t act selfish.
I was too much in love, I remained blind.
My friends told me the truth, I chose not to see.
He broke me again, and I saw.
I gave a last friendly gesture, he doesn’t deserve an official goodbye.
I turned my back and left, he won’t mind.
I love him, but I won’t let him break me again.

Back to the Table of Contents

Leave a comment

Filed under Issue 1, Poetry

Leave a Reply

